Address: 500 Jackson St Quincy, CA 95971
Phone: (530) 283-6320
The Plumas County Museum is an active “living Museum” that offers new exhibits, presentations, and special events, year round. Our Museum complex consists of the Museum – which includes two exhibit floors and an industrial history (railroad and gold mining) wing; an outside exhibit yard that features mining and lumbering displays, a gold miner’s cabin, and a blacksmith shop; and the restored 1878 Variel Home (which is open for tours on Saturdays, 11 am – 3 pm, May through October.) Exhibits within the Museum include an outstanding collection of Native American basketry produced by the area’s original inhabitants, the Mountain Maidu; displays on the early Chinese of the area; fine examples of early firearms and weaponry; a natural history collection – including a 175-pound mountain lion; an extensive goldmining and railroad exhibit; history of longboard skiing displays; medical exhibits; am ever-changing gallery of contemporary art showcasing area photographers and artists; and much more.
The Museum also manages the pioneer log Peppard Cabin and the Pioneer Schoolhouse at the Fairgrounds. Both are open to the public during some special events and during the Plumas-Sierra Fair in August.
The Plumas County Museum is truly worth visiting!